top of page

History of ASCCP

The Society was founded in 1976. 
The founding committee was inaugurated in December 1976 and consisted of:
Malcolm Coppleson (President)
William Chanen (Hon. Secretary)
Ellis Pixley (Hon. Treasurer)
Colin Laverty (Member)

The purpose of the Society is to provide a forum for education and the dissemination of knowledge relevant to the diagnosis and management of the disease processes of the cervix, vagina and vulva. The Society also aims to advise learned bodies and government, and to establish relations with national and international organisations.

The ASCCP holds a bi-annual Scientific Meeting with International Invited Speakers. The Society runs update courses designed for both trainees learning colposcopy and experienced practitioners as updates. The courses cover all aspects of lower ano genital tract disease.  Regular treatment courses are also held. These are for small groups and offer hands-on training in relevant procedures.

Members include gynaecologists, pathologists, cytologists, nurse practitioners and others. Any health professionals involved in the management of pre-malignant disease of the lower genital tract are welcome to apply for membership, and to participate in the many current issues and debates.

bottom of page